... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Tiny moorhenlings!

I haven't blipped moorhenlings for a while!
Hum, I've just checked and the last time was Saturday... I mean that I haven't blipped tiny moorhenlings for a while. These certainly are tiny; I reckon they're about a week old, perhaps less.

I got quite a variety of birdy photographs on Wandsworth Common today, so it has been tricky to choose which to blip. Blipfolio to the rescue: swans and a moorhen. I've blipped this one, because it is the one that most needs to be seen "large". The chick on the left was really glaring at me...

The Egyptian goslings were filthy today: they spent the night next to one of the pontoons in the long grasses, and seem to have ended up rather darker and much more grimy-looking. I think the pontoons trap dirt and detritus. The mother is moulting, and currently has no primary feathers; I've put a picture of her with her wings spread here.

Fine, have a bedraggled gosling, if you insist...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.