50

So, Article 50 has been signed. What seemed like a bad idea even before the referendum took place has turned out to be even more of a car crash than it first appeared. On LBC, James O'Brien interviewed a pro-Leave caller, asking him how he expected to benefit from Brexit. The best the chap had - having been asked repeatedly - was that we wouldn't be in the EU when it implodes in 10 years time. Uh-huh.

There's that old saw Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference, which is all very well but I'm struggling to achieve serenity at the moment. I find myself thinking more and more about moving to Dublin (or, in an ideal world, an independent Scotland that was still in the EU). I don't want to be granted the serenity to sit in someone else's mess.

Still, I can always try and distract myself, which I did this evening by going to the school spring concert, which was up to its usual excellent standard  - particularly, once again - the jazz band, and then heading down into Kirkby Lonsdale for dinner with the Minx and some friends. 

It being a school night, we left the Royal before 11 but the Minx and stayed up for a glass of the Black Forest Gin.

****
-5.4kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.