Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Magnificent "She"

I took a short trek up to Madera Canyon this morning.  I couldn't stand long so I didn't get many photos. But I did get this female magnificent hummingbird.  The male is multi-colored and bright, living up to its name.  The female is much duller than that but distinctive in its own right.  Many hummingbirds have green luminescent backs and wings; however this species has deeper and more brilliant green cap and wings. It's also marked with a white line behind the eye.

Magnificent hummingbirds are second only in size to the Blue-throated of those which enter the U.S.  Only 5% cross the Mexican border into far southeastern Arizona. Occasionally, they can be found in New Mexico and west Texas, too.  Maybe next time I'll nab a male!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.