Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The baby shoot

I was up early and off to my friends to meet their 10 day old baby and take some photos. In my head I had planned a certain kind of photo shoot, and had planned all the shots I wanted to take - but like all newborn photography, it involved the baby being naked, with mum and dad also wearing short sleeves or sleeveless clothing so you get the soft skin to skin effect.

However, when I got there mum told me that baby hated his clothes being off and hated being changed, he got very miserable and unsettled. So I realised there was no point in trying to get these shots with an unhappy baby and so changed tack and got very ordinary types of photos instead....which was not a bad thing, as I don't know if I quite believe in molding a newborn baby into certain positions that it cannot quite manage just yet due to under developed muscles.

Dad is a keen Liverpool supporter and was thrilled when we got some shots of baby in his Liverpool sleep suit - especially as Liverpool won today! I have decided to blip this shot of baby being held by mum as it is does not reveal too much of mum or dad.

Back home I set about editing the photos - Gavin kindly offered to cook supper and I have just finished editing all the photos now. I had forgotten just how small and cute new born babies are - and time consuming!

Another quiet evening just relaxing at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.