I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Ringed Neck Duck

Since I hadn't been to the lake for a while, I thought I would wander up and see what was happening.

I was taking a picture of a Spotted Sandpiper when there was quite a noise in the palm tree above my head. Off flew the black-crowned night heron that I usually find there. I was a bit disappointed, but, he flew back and landed just across from me and posed, thinking that he would be a featured blip. (he only made the extra today, but don't tell him!)

As I walked further on, there were a number of Ringed Neck Ducks swimming around and lining the side of the lake. I haven't seen these before, so I had to let this one shine.

I am grateful for the ever changing water fowl that come to our lakes in the winter and during spring migration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.