My Clever Dad

With only 6 more big sleeps to go until I shift you can imagine I'm not lost for things to do.

Boo hoo day light saving ends today, a sure sign we're heading into winter. On the up side I won't run in the dark next Saturday morning like I did today. The km's always feel like they peel off differently when it's dark.

I packed the laundry into a box (minus the stuff I'll need this week) and then headed outside. I don't know how they'll do but I'll taken seedlings from the Roma garden, and I dug out a couple of small heucheras that haven't done well because need more sun. From the front I dug out a punga seedling, a clump of thyme and cat nip, and a parsley so I have some to start off with. Hopefully something will make it.

All my succulent pot plants had a tidy up to make it easier to move them. The back courtyard looked good after a good sweep and I've tended the Roma garden for the last time.

I liked the play of hard sun and shadow on the succulents but when I removed this key holder from under a fence horizontal, I knew I had to blip it.

I've taken down all sorts of clever things my engineer Dad made me to hang and keep things, particularly in the laundry. This little copper piece he made so I could screw it under a horizontal on a fence and then slide a spare key in.

You see it upside here but you get the idea. I see he provided me with stainless steel screws. Of course, that's Dad's attention to detail.. A key fits perfectly with no risk of falling out and because it's flush with the underside of the wood it's unseen (I did attach it to a lower horizontal so you're not looking up under the wood).

I'm glad I remembered it. The key remains here but another one will take it's place at my new home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.