Winter hill

This morning when I woke up I saw Winter Hill looking beautiful with this wonderful light.  So I tried it with my new toy - a pinhole!  Ro made it for me.  Simply slice open an aluminium can, cut out a square and with a pin make a tiny hole in the center.  Don't put the whole pin through as the hole may be too big.  cover the piece of aluminium with black electrical tape, bar the pinhole. Then hold over the camera minus any lens.  put the ISO on some horrendously high number and take photos.  I found I couldn't always see what I was taking!!  Guess work is useful! The above was taken at 1/30 sec and ISO 2000.  In the extras I have put the same scene using a 60mm lens 1/400, F5.6, ISO 100.

I have also put a couple of pinhole shots taken yesterday in the kitchen with really bright sunlight streaming in! The apples taken at 1/10 sec, ISO 3200 and the wooden flowers at 1/40, ISO 3200.  The pinhole photos show up any dirt on the sensor - which I cleaned up in Photoshop!  I missed a black mark on the blue tulip!

I'm really enjoying this experimentation!!  Many thanks to Markus for initiating it!!  More info on his Journal.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.