Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lessons learned...

Last night we drove around to MollyCollie's house for dinner (less than ten minutes away), and after a glass of prosecco, we decided to leave the car there and walk home because we didn't have our bus passes nor indeed did we have any money for bus fares (though Ann offered to lend us money).

I was slightly anxious about walking all that way home without my walking stick or my hat, but by the second glass of prosecco I knew it was a perfectly good idea.

Well, it took us AGES. Luckily, it wasn't cold, so my head didn't get too chilled. I was very very tired and sore when we eventually staggered home. I slept like a log.

Becky came to take Archie to Harrison Park and continue with 'fetch' training with the frisbee. She had to cross the road when they got near the French Bulldogs' (extra) house, but she realised what was happening. We saw them when we walked by later. Five dogs and a puppy. All piddling on the fake grass. While we were chatting to the owner at the gate, there was a definite whiff of, er, dog piss. She was sitting on the paving stones, but didn't seem to notice.

We then walked round to pick up the car. I used my walking stick. Didn't seem to take as long as last night...

I then spent an hour or so in our sunny front garden on the very comfy sun lounger, listening to my audiobook, which is due back tomorrow. I stopped when the neighbour started grinding down the wee old bits of his fence - but the sun had moved round by then anyway. Most of the old beautiful ornate old railings round here were cut down during the war to melt into tanks or something. But they realised that they were the 'wrong kind of steel' and were useless. They were eventually quietly dumped in the middle of the Irish Sea.

Archie is learning a new trick, though he hasn't quite perfected it. Guess what he does next.

I have to report for jury duty tomorrow. :-(

Mary Berry's Ragù Bolognese for tea. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.