In My Woodland Garden ...

... there was a dunnock, singing beautifully!


I worked in the garden all afternoon. #2 Daughter needed more of our old planks for her allotment beds. We packed the lot into the car to get them cut to the required length. That got us a lot of space back!

I then had a rethink about how to make more raised platforms for my pots without using the planks. No problem! I had some spare ends of the new lodge decking which I can upcycle into staging.

I have to explain: my garden gets flooded a couple of times a year. I want my plant pots up out of the dirty water and sludge!

I was tired by the end of the afternoon. I sat quietly with a drink. The blackbird sunbathing wasn't bothered by my presence. A male pheasant strutted into the garden past me. The siskins, blue tits and great tits continued to use the seed feeder. How good was this?

Wonderful, until the midges found me!

I moved down into the shade of my woodland garden. A pigeon cooed above me, a blackbird hopped in and foraged amongst the ivy. Our robin paid a visit but my gardening may have disturbed the couple and put them off their plans to nest again in the greenhouse! Then the dunnock (hedge sparrow) started to sing.

How wonderful it is having a garden in the country, inspite of the hard work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.