Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bowes Museum

We planned to set off early to travel to Bowes Museum in Barnard Castle. Just before we were ready, I could not find my purse. This is not unusual. I have the Tile system where you can press a button on the iPad and call up the purse or keys or whatever. No response.

After concentrating hard, I knew that the last time I had it was at Aldi on Friday, so we set off to Barnard Castle via Aldi. My purse was in the office and was restored to me intact. Phew!

We enjoyed the drive over the moors via Stanhope and Edmundbyers. Our aim was to see the photography of Tony Ray-Jones and Martin Parr in the exhibition Only in England. There is some fascinating work in there, although hardly anyone ever smiles. Was it really like that? It's not how I remember the 60s and 70s.

Tony Ray Jones said: Photography can be a mirror and reflect life as it is, but I think it is possible to walk, like Allice, through the looking glass and find another world with the camera. He sadly died at the age of 30 from leukaemia.

Martin Parr was inspired by Ray Jones' work. There was a quote of his I wanted to include but now can't find anywhere. He seemed to imply that it was acceptable for a photograph to warp truth. I've been pondering a lot about this since the case of the photograph of a Muslim woman on Westminster Bridge after the recent attack there. The photographer implied that the woman showed no compassion for others, which was untrue.

Must stop rambling. We loved the exhibition and found lots to discuss.

My blip is taken in one of the portrait galleries, the one that houses the famous El Greco of Saint Peter crying. This carving is on a pew end, but I can't find out more about it tonight either.

We came home and then I went to Brian and Jean's for a celebration of their golden wedding. It was a lovely evening with excellent food. The men, who were outnumbered, retreated to the dining room to eat, leaving the women to chat. Interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.