briocarioca

By briocarioca

Large blue butterfly

But otherwise nameless. I've Googled hard to find its scientific name and found lots of photos, but none that identify it. I also didn't manage to get a half decent photo of it with its wings open, showing the wonderful irridescent blue, but the fuzzy extra photo gives an idea of the colour. At one point, four of them were feasting on windfall guavas but I still failed to catch a shot when they all flew off. The other extra photo is of what I take to be a juvenile Planalto Hermit (hummer).

Accounts again today - slow and boring, but at least I could sit out on the porch and watch birds and butterflies. Now we have to pack up, take the dogs for their second walk of the day and head back down to Rio, probably dropping in on our invalid friend on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.