Recycled bouquet

I can now reveal that yesterday's ingredients were served at the table to my book group pals as follows:

Individual carrot soufflés
Cold spinach and salmon terrine with salads and hot redcurrant sauce
Sticky toffee pudding with custard (blipped by Ridgeback13)

It all seemed so healthy at the start!

Although officially a day when I was not supposed to be working, I drove(!) up to our Craiglockhart campus late this afternoon to support a colleague who was delivering his inaugural professorial lecture at 17:30. It took some planning, but I still managed to get back home in time to greet my book group guests at 19:30. It helped that two of them were at the lecture with me and I was able to give them a lift across town back to my flat.

It turned out that the others did not share my obvious enthusiasm for All my puny sorrows. I read it in the first place because it was recommended independently by two close friends from University. They both loved it and were pretty sure that I would too. The three of us all went through the same 'training' studying literature as undergraduates, so perhaps it is not surprising that our tastes are similar.  Anyway, I still think that it is a brilliant book and recommend it highly. (Actually I think one of the others said at dinner something along the lines of 'This is the kind of book you would write Hazel'. I think that should read 'wish you could have written'.)

Our next book is Island on the edge: a life on Soay by Anne Cholawo. We'll be discussing it on 22nd May, if you would like to read along with us.

My blip is of the flower arrangements that I made for the dinner table. They are recycled from Jon's beautiful birthday bouquet.

Exercise today: Same cycle path run as on Saturday, but one minute slower (45 minutes).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.