KITCHENALIA

Felt rather unwell today - nothing drastic just generally under the weather, weary and I have had a splitting headache.  So after doing a couple of little jobs around the house I relaxed and watched TV.  Decided to get some fresh air around 4pm and I walked to The Co-op.  The weather was sunny but there was a cold wind. I feel slightly better this evening.

Two local news items caught my interest today and I thought I would share.

The old Odeon cinema in the centre of Newcastle is being demolished.  The front of the building was held up with scaffolding while the rest of the building is knocked down.  Last evening around 11pm the whole front of the building including the scaffolding crashed to the ground.  Luckily there was no traffic or pedestrians passing by at the time.  There were people on the opposite pavement but  the debris didn't reach that far.  So no-one was hurt.  Could have been a disaster - Health and Safety and The Council are investigating.

Second item - a 9 year old boy was reported missing by his parents this morning.  He had gone to bed as usual last evening and this morning when they went to wake him for school he wasn't there.   So all morning the police searched for him using dogs, helicopter, and a rescue boat on the river. At 12.40pm he was found.  And where was he? ---- hiding in a cupboard under his bed. Glad he is safe BUT questions are being asked as to why the police didn't do a thorough search of the house before pulling out all the stops to try and find him. 

The Tiny Tuesday challenge theme today is Kitchenalia.  I tried to find something old in my kitchen drawer.  This vintage Golden Plough Orange Knife dates from the 1920 -1930's. It has a blue bakelite handle and measures 6" in length. It belonged to my late husband and I suspect that it was his mothers.  It has obviously been in many kitchen drawers during its life.  No idea why I have it in mine though as I have never used it !. Thanks to  trisharooni for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 7,747

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.