A decking dull day

The sun shone today - for about five minutes at 5.40pm, just as I was clearing up to go in. Unusually I have not been out today, or rather no further than my garage down at road level. 

I've had a decking day - the deck right along the side of our house is one of the flimsiest I have seen. Rumour has it that it was the first decking constructed in Oban - the man who built our bungalow had recently returned from Australia apparently, where decking is used more than it is here!

I've had to replace a lot of the timber on the side rails and will also replace the heathery stuff which was used as a wind excluder with split bamboo - that's the next job. The final job will be the hardest - replacing one of the structural timbers underneath which has completely rotted - in time for a summer sitting outside in the sunshine!

Also unusually I have taken only two pictures today - and one of those was out of focus. This is some of the timber which I painted this morning ready to haul up the drive to the deck above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.