Landing the catch

I went down to the town this afternoon to stretch my legs and find a Blip - and almost wished I hadn't. There is so much litter around the town that it really spoiled my walk. Sometimes when I've mentioned this to people they are surprised, and say that they think Oban is quite a clean town, but when you walk about the town instead of driving through it you get a very different picture. The pier and main streets are kept fairly clean, but only a short distance away there are countless bottles and cans, plastic and paper and other rubbish. Maybe it's the same everywhere, but I often wonder what the visitors think - this is supposed to be a holiday town, after all!

Enough of the moaning! I came back through the ferry terminal and harbour and watched the arrival of 'Harvest Anne' , a fish-farm work boat, then saw the 'Loch Striven' unload her passengers from Lismore and wander over to her holding berth on the North Pier. Then 'Kinloch', an Oban fishing boat, came in and I caught all three!

Back up the hill, talked to some neighbours, gave directions to some visitors, gave the new decking timber another coat and came in to sort my Blip! A normal afternoon in fact.

After thought - my extra is of a pile of junk just across the railway from the ferry terminal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.