Pristine

Late posting but this is a journal and I wanted to make sure I can refer back one day. This was taken about 25 km from the mainland. Rare for it to be so calm. Water temp 27deg/c and air temp 31dec/c and very humid.

The bay was pristine today. I got up at 3am and headed out on the bay. It was overcast so navigation in the dark was a little tricky. I knew what direction I needed to heading in so eventually I took a compass bearing on my chart and headed in that direction. By the time I could see where I was going I knew I was on the right track.

Where did I go? Into completely uncharted waters (for me anyway). Normally I don't stray more than 10km from the mainland but today I went right out to about 25km offshore. Still in the bay and with Moreton island between me and the oblivion of the Pacific. It was a 3/4 hour cruise out in my boat. I stopped in 25 metres of water and started fishing. No point in anchoring up, my anchor rope is only 30 metres. No way it would hold. There was very little current anyway.

I went out that far because I have been very keen to catch a mackerel or tuna in the bay. People are even catching Marlin! Not that my gear could handle that. Actually as I found out, my gear is even a but underkill for mackerel. I got two hookups and both times the line on my reels was nearly gone before I got bitten off. Lesson learned. I need more line and a stronger wire trace.

It actually got unexpectedly windy at around 9am. I reluctantly headed back to port. The bay is a dangerous place when the wind blows up quickly. Unfortunately I made the wrong decision (or the wrong right decision) because within half an hour of my getting home the wind died again. So, I picked up my mate Brad, re-launched the boat and went back out. The fishing was average until I took him to one of my regular haunts and we caught a few sharks.

All in all a great day on the bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.