Nothing riveting today...

...as regards art, just me experimenting a bit at art group this afternoon. These are acrylic paints...all I had with me, and some brushes. And baby wipes.

I was looking at the 'ingredients' list in the baby wipes and wondered if any of it would react with the acrylics. So I painted the blue on the top, and it was drying fast. I squeezed a few drops by wringing the baby wipe on to the blue. It did start to react a bit, whereas just water did nothing. So I dabbed the whiteish bit with the rest of the baby wipe, to take the colour out.

I did the same with the green, and then the purple. Each colour behaved a little different. I found this interesting. But they were different makes of acrylics.

The blue went a bit grainy where the drops were wrung out of the baby wipe, and I was surprised how much colour came out.

The green wasn't as interesting, I think, although colour came out.

The purple was the most interesting. I keep seeing different fantasy scenes in the purple.

When I got home I was going to do either some encaustic wax on top of this, or a quick sketch in brush felt tips. But I didn't want to. I keep seeing something new in the purple at the bottom.

This is A4 sized, and consequently is going to be my pic today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017. I do intend to experiment further with this. I am interested in it as a beginning, leading to something good.

I am going to make a cuppa, go to bed early and look at your entries. I need rest because I have another long potentially awkward day tomorrow (and this front tooth I had out a week ago is still causing me pain when I move my head or bend down), so I need all my energy to get the best I can out of tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.