One Butterfly - Five Wings

Backblipping as my broadband was not working.

I got some great shots of a wren singing and a sparrowhawk in flight being mobbed by a little bird. I also captured my first pied shieldbug of 2017. Unfortunately I deleted the source images owing to technical ineptitude. :( I'm thinking philosophically about this. My dog has had curative surgery and together we'll soon capture plenty more pics, though it will be a while before I get a sparrowhawk's piercing yellow eyes peering down at me so clearly. :)

Off I went to Butterfly Alley and stood there in a blackthorn petal snowstorm, waiting for the speckled wood to patrol. I got some of the butterfly that were visually more appealing but have decided to post the above as it has the added interest of the field maple seed wing.

Today's poem is Celia Celia by Adrian Mitchell.

When I am sad and weary
When I think all hope is gone
When I walk along High Holborn
I think of you with nothing on

I love this. AM wrote it for his second wife. It reminds me of the verses of Spike Milligan, who my father loved. This from The Telegraph obit of Adrian Mitchell:

"Not all Mitchell's public attitudes embraced earnest liberal pieties. In 1998 he published an ode to celebrate the 80th birthday of the comedian Spike Milligan, that ended: "Oh Milligan, sweet Milligan/Our dentures feel that thrill again/As round the world we watch you fly/Like an immortal custard pie."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.