No Flies On Me, Some Hatching Though

Backblipping owing to broadband failure.

Jazzy seemed a bit subdued and I was concerned for a while. She hesitated when I presented her with her breakfast omelette and then nibbled at it delicately instead of wolfing it down. Fortunately she improved as the day wore on. I'm wondering if she might have been in a bit of post-operative pain as she is no longer having painkilling medication.

I spent most of the day hanging around the back door with her. We heard an unusual tweeting. It was a house sparrow. I was so pleased as I haven't seen one in the garden for years. I went for a walk on my own leaving Jazz with MrQ. The Canada goose that wasn't looking very happy the other day is still on the lake with its head down. :( I got pics of a flock of jays, they're very striking-looking but it's not good news for the small nesting birds. 

With no internet to use for research I got out my old insect book. I didn't realise that our honey bees are not native to the UK, they came from Asia.

I got an amusing image of a horse wearing a fly mask in the field south of our property. Unfortunately, whilst struggling with my tech problems, I have accidentally deleted the source image. Not wanting to ruin my unbroken daily blip record I have had to photograph the screen in Lightroom in order to reproduce the pic here. I've added some paper texture to it so that it is obvious that it is not as the pic should look, had I been able to export it. The cross hatching of the screen is quite obvious. 

Today's poem is Come. And Be My Baby by Maya Angelou.https://www.poeticous.com/maya-angelou/come-and-be-my-baby

I quite like this. It belies the "blooming horror" that the poet suffered at the hands of her mother's boyfriend who raped her when she was seven and a half. She was mute with shock until she was thirteen. A woman who she loved persuaded her to talk by encouraging her to read poetry aloud. She went on to read one of her poems at Bill Clinton's inauguration.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.