Nir Levy Photography

By nir

Light behind the darkness.

I thought yesterday's blip had a selfish tone, but it won't even come close to today's. The pictured foggy night fits my mood pretty well.

I can not afford a Founding Membership. :(

I see this button offering a tremendous opportunity and I so badly want to say "yes, sign me up too!". I so badly want to say, "no, this hasn't divided the community" but I can't help but feel that I am set a part.

While I have submitted only 182 photos over the course of almost 20 months, blipfoto is a part of my identity. It is part of who I am and a part of how I look at the world around me. Blipfoto.com has changed me. I wish I could give back, but I can't. "I'm choosing" to save every penny for college as I force myself to recognize the possibility that my experience here might have to come to a short end. In contrast to a life-time commitment I once envisioned.

I discussed the Founding Membership time and time again with my parents. And as much as I want to be independent, I know that I am not. I have to remind myself that I need all the help I can get to pay for college which begins next year. And as far as blipfoto goes, I do not have their approval to peruse membership. 60 United States Dollars is just too much at this point in time.

I don't know what to do.

I suppose I could stop eating school lunches for 20 days, a snack bar from home could be enough.

This whole debate has forced me to consider why Blipfoto is so important to me. Instantly I recognize my desire to feel connected to other photographers, my need for inspiration, and the great pleasure I get from the feedback and critique of others. And yet now, I feel divided. I feel pushed into a position I do not want to be in.

I apologize for making this about me.
I can't possibly be the only one going through this situation.

I know I can continue (for now) without purchasing Founding Membership. But when I see such a great opportunity, a chance for me to give back, and just can't. Well... it's a bit upsetting. To say the least.

I'm at loss for words until tomorrow.

Constructive criticism is always appreciated.

---

I really appreciate everyone's kind words of encouragement. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.