Nir Levy Photography

By nir

Surviving & Surpassing The Fog

Until today when I saw a blip with a post of about this length, I skimmed over it. Probably even if shorter, definitely if longer. I brushed aside someone's carefully crafted words replacing them with my own assumptions and interpretations. I appreciated only the cover, I admired mostly the image. Now, I read. Now, I read it all, every time.

I humbly ask that you try to do the same.

Last night's fog strangely decided to persist. An unusual feat for urban Atlanta, far from any major water way. Perhaps it's an attempt to deter me from going inside, to encourage me to progress with some school work. But the opposite happened and I went off, venturing through the fog.

There is something comforting about fog and mist. It surounds you to the point where you almost become a part of it.

Yesterday's few but powerful comments were comforting but not settling. Today I read Croz's and Bisk's blips very carefully. I was deeply saddened by their message. They are such incredible photographers, true reflections of what I perceive as the blip philosophy. What a tremendous loss to this community.

I still wish I could continue on, I plan to do so for as long as possible but feel it won't be for very long. After Founding Membership will come normal membership. That too, I will probably be unable to attain. And to be frank, I know membership is only the beginning. While this community will get tighter, will get smaller, higher barriers of entry tend to do just that, while those few happy and able will pay dues and fees with great pride or even without even thinking or knowing, I still feel I must express that others are struggling, others can not be pride. Instead I feel some are unable to decide if they should even speak up (thank you lilymaychanter). While some may choose to ignore the hidden emotions, the debate is not over. The feelings are not entirely mutual.

I can't speak for others but this is what I feel. Posting a blip has become a moral responsibility of mine. An attempt to defy authority (my parents), and rise above division which you can not deny. It is no longer fun, it is in fact become a matter of great stress. I recognize the most rewarding things in life are often difficult to attain, painful even. Dare I suggest that no one will tell me what I am, what I can do or what I can not do.

Constructive criticism is always appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.