Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Look who we found in Whitby

Our holidays have overlapped, they've been staying in Whitby itself whereas we've been staying near Danby on the North York Moors.  This was their last day, so after bumping into Lou on the swing bridge we finally met up in Pannett Park.  We followed up with lunch at Cranberry Swamp on Skinner Street (near the top Bothom's restaurant).  Absolutely delicious - I couldn't recommend it more highly and the staff were lovely too.

I managed my walk over the Rigg again this morning with the sun shining, so I had the best of the day and an extra treat this morning,  I was invited to see the calves as I passed through the farm. There was much excitement as they were going to be let out into the field for the first time.  Bobby would have loved seeing them.  I've known forever that there are a couple of lower level paths that give access to the Rigg and this morning I explored a bit further and found them.  Mainly because Ann suggested that I tried to get a photo of our cottages with the church in the background to give to our to give to our hosts and also because the winter vegetation on the moor made the paths visible (if still a little wet).  

p.s. I've had to buy some temporary boots in Whitby as the heel of my right boot came unstuck again on the final stage of our walk yesterday.  I tried the boot repair man in Whitby to see if he could re-stick it but he declared it a lost cause - it had already been re-stuck once. They are Zamberlain boots, so not cheap and bought in Fisher's in Keswick. I've never had a pair of boots where the soles have come unstuck before and my repair man thought it was because of the synthetic layer under the sole, which he said they now included in boots to make them more lightweight had deteriorated so there was nothing to stick to.  I wonder if when they resole boots these days they actually replace this layer too.  I realy like the boots and there's nothing wrong with the uppers.

p.p.s. Thank you for all your congratulations on my 6th Blip-birthday.  I will get around to saying thanks you to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.