Favolaschia calocera (Orange Pore Fungi)

What I learned today:

Orange Pore Fungi are tiny!

I took a drive out to Geraldine this morning and went for a wander through Talbot Forest.  My mission was to find Orange pore fungii.  I walked a number of tracks and never found any.  Then I sat down on the forest floor to photograph a different fungi and there, right beside me, was this speck of orange.  I'd tracked it down!

Why hadn't I found it sooner?  I've only ever seen it in photographs before and I had assumed it was a reasonable size.  Nope!   While I was looking around for orange circles about an inch (25 mm) across, these guys were hiding all over the place, less than 5 mm across.

So now I really admire people who have photographed and blipped them before.  Man, they're hard to focus on when they're that small and in dark bush!

Sadly I don't think this quite counts as a Cultural "Whats on Your Plate" blip.  A pity, as I like the concept.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.