Border Tails

By Swannie

Silly Saturday - Melrose Sevens

I woke up early this morning, half an hour before my alarm was due to go off and even before JJ, so I just got up. Well, it was ten to three! Another early shift but when I finished, I went home, changed, grabbed the camera and jumped on a bus to Melrose to catch some of the action in the world famous Melrose Sevens.

It was a great day, with wall to wall sunshine, Melrose always seem to strike it lucky with the weather. I caught up with my cousin Ali, who was on duty as a Safety Steward (see extra). Our fathers are actually something like third cousins twice removed, having met each other as students at Edinburgh Uni, where they worked out that as Ali's dad came from Orkney, as did my gran, they had to be related. They have kept in touch over the years but this was only the third time we have met up.

I have included a second extra of a game, I think it is Heriots in the stripes against the Swedish national side. I like how the guy with the ball seems to be saying "it's ma baw, yer no getting it"!

At five o'clock, I was beginning to flag so I walked up the street to the bus stop where these two ladies noticed my camera and demanded I take their picture. The were a bit posh and a lot pissed, I suspect they had not seen much rugby, but possibly had been having the time of their lives in one of the local hostelries.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.