Making toy soldiers!

I had a nice lie in today. We all did. So batteries properly charged for the weekend. Jon headed off to Norwich to buy fence panels and i drove Mollie in to work. After walking Bracken and doing some washing, Jon was back. There were a few things we need for the caravan so we drove down to West Runton where there is a small camping shop.

Back home we kitted out the caravan with everything we could think of, so all set to go Wednesday!

After watching the grand national, (i guessed that someone in my family would have backed Arthur, so well done Clare!) I went into the garden to do another painting. A building was what I had planned, and have printed the photo I took Tuesday of my church in Hoddesdon. Well. That isn't as easy as it seems is it?! I couldn't even mix the right colour. BUT I enjoyed it, and it's a work in progress!

Henry and Jon found Jon's old lead soldier moulds in the garage, and a bag of lead pieces and misshapen soldiers, plus a heavy ladle to melt the lead. With gloves on and a blow torch, together they had a go a making one. They had some degree of success....this was the first one. An indian on horseback. Some lead dripped through onto the grass. Once cooled Which didn't take long, Henry removed it from the mould and it is now another dust collector on his shelf. He is so like me!!

Jon cooked tea, then we went to the pier and ate chips, watching the sun set. What better way to end the day. Living on this coast has it's pluses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.