Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Like a summer's day

We had a lazy start to the morning as last night we went to friends for supper and it was quite a late evening. Talk about six degrees of separation, the whole evening we discovered connections between the guests at the dinner which none of us had realised before. I discovered that someone I met for the first time last night, who is English, went to school near to where I lived in Durban and then we were at the same university. She moved back to England as a young adult and I never even guessed we had this shared history.

Today was the most perfect summer's day - it got to about 23C and I spent a good part of it sitting outside in the sunshine catching up on reading my photography magazines. I took some photos on my dog walk this morning but the light was still so wonderful late in the day that I quickly went down to the river where I took this shot - it was just before 7pm and it was still 21C. Tomorrow it is all change again, the forecast is for 12C - how can it change so much in one day?! Oh right, it's because we live on an island...

I am looking forward to a quiet evening at home tonight - I will watch the last episode of This Is Us, with the tissues close by - I have so enjoyed this series, if you have not yet seen it, catch it where you can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.