Pin Hole Portrait EP4

This is my first contribution to the Markus H pinhole challenge, EP4.
This turned out to be a very challenging challenge, which made me think of the BBC TV children's program Blue Peter, because it involved masses of black sticky tape, a toilet roll centre, cardboard, scissors, and aluminium foil. It also involved opening up my SLR Canon and substituting that hi-tech computerised lens for one made out of the above materials. (See the extra photo.)
I got several results and learned a few things along the way.  For example I made both a wide-angle and a telephoto pinhole by moving the pinhole closer in or further from the light sensor. This picture is taken with the pinhole on the end of the toilet roll lens tube, ie, the full telephoto!
Once I got going I got both disappointed and fascinated. The disappointment came from the blurriness of the pictures, the fascination from the twin challenges of trying to improve the "lens" to reduce the blurriness, or finding subjects where the blurriness added to the picture.
I have a few ideas for further improvements and we'll see if I manage to try them out and produce a second picture before next Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.