Pink wood anemone

Another glorious spring day, so after dropping Ben in Stamford I headed to one of the under-recorded tetrads in my survey area, where there was a convenient circular route on bridleways and small country lanes. It was wonderful to be out, and the arable fields resounded with the song of the skylark, and there were plenty of cowslips and tumbling masses of greater stitchwort in some of the hedge bottoms. 

About half way through my planned route I met a couple walking their dog, and they inquired what I was up to. I explained the 2020 Atlas project, and casually said that it would be good to get access to the private woodlands. Coincidentally, the man had been the farm manager of the estate for over 35 years, only recently having retired, so he rang the owner for me and after a short conversation I was given permission to go in the woods which made my walk somewhat longer. 

They supported a fairly typical ancient woodland ground flora, though the sheer number of wood anemones and pignut was really pleasing. 
Wood anemone rarely reproduces by seed, which is mostly infertile, and spreads slowly through vegetative expansion. This is one of the reasons that wood anemone is a reliable ancient woodland indicator, as it cannot easily colonise new habitats. A population of wood anemones is made up of a number of clones, and in these woods there was a high proportion of very pink-flushed flowers, which make a change from the usual white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.