New shoots

An amazing day. After a gap of thirty years, Pete and I met up for coffee and cake with my half-sister J and her husband. I was a bit nervous in the morning, but as soon as we saw each other there was that flash of recognition, big smiles and a huge hug. We then continued to talk nineteen to the dozen for nearly two hours and probably could have continued for much longer if they hadn't needed to get on the road to Devon. So many similarities, a shared love of life and a great sense of humour. We've been invited to visit them in Devon later in the year, so I'm definitely looking forward to that...

I was on such a high that I couldn't really concentrate in the afternoon, so Pete, Chris and I went for a walk round Southey Wood which was looking beautiful. I love the verdant green and delicate texture of emerging foliage, and find hazel particularly beautiful. One ride had more flowering primroses than I've seen for years, interspersed with violets and wood anemones, and in another area we found the delicate pink-veined blooms of wood-sorrel, which is quite uncommon locally.

Ben and Alex both arrived home just before six, and then we were off to a local pub for a meal to celebrate Pete's forthcoming birthday, a couple of days early so that Chris and Lizzy could be with us. Being a Friday night the pub was pretty busy, and by the time we arrived they'd already run out of some dishes. But although the service was a bit slow, it was more than made up for by the food and the sparky waitress with the most amazing turquoise blue hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.