If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Leucistic Female Chaffinch

Clickychick was out at the studio meeting up with Pixelfoto, I was pottering around home.  As I do when at home I am constantly looking out of the windows.   One of the first things I noticed was that since we had been away the squirrel feeder was much emptier.  I couldn't think of anything else which would be taking them so thought it was a good sign.

The next time I looked out I spotted this oddity.  In case there are identification problems it is a leucistic female chaffinch.  The camera was lying out on the table as always so I managed to shoot off a few shots.  Despite seeing it a few more times no better photo opportunities presented themselves.

Leucism is an umbrella term covering a number of conditions.  However it is often mistaken for albinism.  Albinos have pink eyes and the lack of colour is caused by a genetic mutation.  True albinos don't live long in the wild probably due to having poor eyesight owing to the mutation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.