If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Pen at rest.

Today was one of our monthly garden centre visits with Kanyl.  It was to Houghton Hall who don't allow photography (well not with DSLRs they don't seem to take any notice of phones).  The short sighted idea seems to be because they are scared of industrial espionage.

As we were leaving I stopped to see if the swans were nesting on the pond.  Sure enough they were.  The Pen was sound asleep but the Cob didn't like the idea of paparazzo even with a 300mm lens.  he started to plough his way through the reeds so I departed, rather than disturb them.

On dropping Kanyl off we stopped a while and as I wandered round his garden I spotted a curled up hedgehog.  I knew he and/or Clickychick would want to photograph it so I bent down to move a lump of plastic beside it.  When I moved the plastic I moved the Hedgehog as well.  The poor thing had 2 toes just and so caught in a mouse trap.  I freed it and before we left it was relaxed enough to be open and eating mealworms.  

How it got into his garden dragging that trap I don't know, but it was lucky it did.  Who in their right mind sets a thing like that where wild animals can get caught.  I can understand killing mice in a house and in some circumstances in a shed, however hedgehogs aren't found in either of those places.  Luckily there doesn't seem to be any great damage done as CC's blip shows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.