Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Birds and Blooms

Our cherry trees are the first things to burst into bloom each spring (aside from the bulbs, of course) and they are bird and bee magnets.  The trees provide the birds with great cover when they are on break from eating, and the bees love all the pollen.  Every year, I try to catch some photos of birds perched in among the blossoms.  This year, I think I'll try for a week of "blooms" shots - most will feature birds, but if something else interesting finds its way onto a bloom, I may blip it.  Fair warning.  Today's Bird in the Blooms is a White-throated sparrow. They are winter residents and are already migrating north now.  So, whereas a few weeks ago there were many in the yard, now there are just small groups coming through and stopping to refuel.  

These sparrows come in two color variations - tan striped, and white striped.  This is the former and I'll put a shot of the latter in Extra so that you can see the difference.  

The saga of the blue birds continues... both male and female were in the garden this morning, going in and out of nest boxes.  All the while, being followed by the dastardly house sparrow.  Twice, I saw Missus attack the sparrow and pin it to the ground momentarily.  This would suggest that she is protecting the nest box.  However, I also saw Monsieur mounting her on the cherry tree (yea, I know, that would have been a killer "birds and blooms" shot if only i'd been faster) which would suggest she's already got a finished nest.  So, I'm not sure what to think.  I'll keep you posted...

Dinner last night with a dear friend who's had a tough run with cancer recently.  Happily, she seems to be in the clear and things are looking very optimistic.  And, she looks healthy and beautiful.  

I've added some more photos to my Arizona Birds album on Flickr.  Seven photos of three different hummingbird species, starting HERE.  Worth a look if you have time.  Makes me anxious for the arrival of our hummers --- just a few more weeks.

Thanks, as always, for stopping by.  And Happy Hump Day.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.