Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Finally!

I've been watching the flocks of American goldfinches all winter, hoping to spot a Pine Siskin.  It's been over a year since I've seen one in the yard and I'd kind of figured I'd be out of luck until next winter.  Lo and behold, there was one drab little siskin in with the Purple Finches today.  I was so focused on the finches that I didn't even really notice this one, rather absently snapping a few pics.  Not until I got the pics up on the screen did I realize it was a Pine Siskin - although a very drab and washed-out looking one.  Usually they are much streakier across the breast and have visible yellow on the wing.  In fact, I had to get verification on the ID of this.  Anyway, here it is, Yardbird # 26 to be memorialized in my Blipfoto journal this year.  

NOTE:  I have learned since posting this that this is very likely a hybrid between a pine siskin and an American goldfinch.  Both birds are in the same genus, and although rare, cross breeding is not unheard of.  I'm still counting it as a Pine Siskin in my yard count, but it was an interesting bit of data.

I've posted some snazzier looking finches and one sparrow on Flickr, starting HERE - four shots

MIL was napping when I stopped in to visit today, so I gave her a kiss on the cheek and let her sleep.  

Stopped at Home Depot to pick up some bird food and two new suet cages.  In the last week I've lost two suet cages - thanks to raccoons, I think.  I just checked my "critter cam" to see what's been around the past 3 nights and got clips of deer, two raccoons, one possom and a fox.  Pretty sure one of the 'coons had a suet cage in its crafty little mouth as it ran past the cam.  

Enjoyed a nice long catch-up call with my niece, and lunch out with my Hubs.  Topped it off with a little gardening (pansies and primroses), all of which makes for a very good day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.