Memorial service

Magerman told me, “Bob [Robert Mercer] believes that human beings have no inherent value other than how much money they make.” --Jane Mayer, article in March 27, 2017 issue of The New Yorker.

Troubled by reading the article from which I take this quotation, I attended a memorial service for an unhoused man in his thirties who died in his tent this winter. He had been unhoused since he was a teenager. Toxicology reports are not yet available, but his friends believe he was poisoned by emissions from the propane stove he used in his tent. When he was found, his little dog was near death, lying on his chest. The dog was taken to an emergency vet clinic and survived, and the man’s girlfriend, who was not with him the night he died, brought the dog to the memorial. Everyone who spoke at the memorial talked about the man’s generosity, his kindness, his mentoring and protection of young unhoused people. 

Of the 267 photos I made at the memorial, the one I'm blipping is Sue's favorite. I'm posting my favorite as an Extra. The man's sister asked me to post a number of pictures on a Facebook page she is creating in his memory, when she gets it ready.

If you would like to read the full (very long, but deeply insightful) article from The New Yorker, it’s here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.