A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Hay making - again?

We had a longer than usual morning walk today.Setting of from Harden Moor and walked across the fields and moors to the Long Lee.

We crossed the main road and followed some walled paths through the houses to the hamlet of Thwaites Brow - perched high above Keighley - and climbed gradually back up to the St Ives estate. We saw a number of newly mown fields and even saw the cutting in action which had disturbed a big brood of young grouse.
Not sure if these are late or second cuttings but the smell of new mown hay is one I normally associate with early summer and it took me back to my childhood hay making on the farm.

Quite a lot of unfamiliar paths for me today,which I always enjoy, but not very far from home.

Thank you S and C for organising it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.