An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Date Night...

Plumber was out at 8.00am to look at the boiler as my shower yesterday morning was decidedly brrrrrrrrr-acing!   Thankfully it seemed to be an easy problem to fix and by 10am we had plenty hot water so I had no excuse not to get up.

We resisted going out for lunch today as we knew our afternoon task of clearing out the walk-in linen cupboard at the top of the stairs would never get done if we did.  Instead we stayed at home, I made coronation chicken sandwiches and by 2.30pm we were waste deep in almost 28 years worth of towels and bedlinen!  

I never throw old towels out unless they are absolutely knackered.  I always think they will come in useful for mopping water when de-frosting the freezer, drying Alan's wheelchair wheels when he's been out in the rain, drying garden furniture etc etc but 28 years worth I can see, is a bit excessive.

I am pleased to say we were ruthless and the cupboard is looking great.  Just the current bedlinen and sets of towels in there now...

 Oh and Alan's first pram and cot quilt set and a bag full of baby clothes knitted by my mum and sets of table linen that belonged to David's mum and my gran and a patchwork quilt we bought in France and some festive table linen and Irish linen napkins we bought in Dublin on our 10th Wedding Anniversary (never used) and placemats for the garden table.

Like I say, we were ruthless :-)

And now, as a reward for all that hard work,  I have a lovely evening planned.    Salmon fillet with lemon and parsley, baby potatoes with butter and chives, asparagus roasted with parma ham and parmesan washed down with a chilled pinot grigio.

I invited the dashing Poldark to join me and to my delight he said yes.  

Some days just can't get any better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.