My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Labour of Love

From this to this.

It's taken me the last 19 days - though I could have done it in 16 but did have 3 days off!

I've painted:
21 cupboard doors. Undercoated twice on inside and outside plus extra coat on mouldings. Eggshelled twice on inside, three times on the outside plus extra coat on mouldings.
3 appliance doors. As outside of cupboard doors.
10 drawers. As outside of cupboard doors - with extra fernickity moulding.
Skirting boards and architraves. As outside of cupboard doors plus extra two coats of eggshell.
Then of course the usual touch up needed when you start to put things back/attach handles and end up knocking off the paint.

A few people have been surprised it's taken so long. Well first of all there's only so much space I have to lay out the doors. Could only do 6 at a time with 2 in the kitchen, 2 in the lounge and 2 in the spare bedroom. You've then got all the drying time between coats and between turning over. And then as it was such dark wood it did need a lot of coats to completely cover it! So definitely a labour of love!

You can see me (sort of!) whizzing around as I do the finishing touches!

I'm thrilled with how it looks however very glad to pack away the painting gear!

Serious relaxing this weekend.



The rest of the kitchen painting series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.