Finally finished

A one photo day today, as I've spent the whole day on a glorious piece of work that is supposed to make women's careers better. Well, not mine. And certainly not my work-life balance, or at least not right now.

It was good to finish this lengthy tome yesterday evening. It's taken me a while - I started it back in December when I seemed to be finding a bit more time for reading. Wonder why. I've plodded my way through it. It's illuminating to see the world from a different perspective - from the perspective of the connections made between China, Europe, India and elsewhere, through the Middle East. I preferred to the older history, to be honest, especially the material from the Middle Ages that I wasn't familiar with at all. The more recent imperial adventures in the Middle East, especially postwar US policy, was covered in a bit more detail than I needed. That said, it's interesting to see all the same mistakes being made... and not hard to graft the horror that is Trump onto a narrative that finished around the beginning of this decade.

I feel it's time for a bit of lightweight fiction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.