atoll

By atoll

Stone Me

Of course not essential that this blip be appreciated alongside Van Morrison's And it Stoned Me but I like it as it sums up my lovely day fishing. The rain also held off - just.

Me and MrsB spent most of the day on the river at Addingham, me fly fishing, and she sitting in her canvas chair riverside reading her book. Shared pack lunch was half an uneaten pizza from the doggy bag of last nights Italian meal, a flask of milky coffee, and a couple of slices of yesterdays birthday cake.

Fishing was hard because the wind was strong and making casting and staying in control of the fly tricky. I missed a bagful but netted a beautiful wild brownie late on which was returned to fight another day. At one point, I also tried an old Ernest Hemingway trick and fished dry with a grasshopper. Had a fish rise to it and it was on briefly before I lost it.

The riverside B&B in Grassington tonight is absolutely brilliant (did I mention it also has free fishing?). We were welcomed-in by kind hosts Robin and Beryl with a lovely pot of tea and freshly baked and still warm scones in the 'music room'.

MrsB thinks my shot of the little Beech leaf in the river today looks like a lit candle. It didn't occur to me at the time but I think she's right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.