Watching a pair of white-throated dippers

I took at break at lunchtime to go shopping, but on the way I took a walk down to Capel's Mill Viaduct over the River Frome. I'm aware that the leaf cover is thickening quickly and wanted to see if I could see a kingfisher in brighter conditions under the tree canopy on the banks of the river.

I think I have left it too late as not only did I see no kingfishers but the light was limited even though it was a sunny day. I saw none of the usual signs of kingfishers being present around their nest site at Capel's Mill so didn't wait too long in anticipation. 

But I did see a white-throated dipper standing on the bank of the river a few yards upstream of the footbridge over the river. There always seem to be several pairs of dippers in this area and usually nesting. so I moved to a spot near the bridge where I have seen them nest before and waited.

Within minutes I was delighted to see one of the dippers fly up under the bridge to the same nesting spot as in previous years. I set my camera up, despite the even darker conditions in the shadow of the bridge and waited. My blip shows one of the pair bringing food up to the nest whose twigs you can just see beneath the bridge.

I have added a three more pictures to show the context, one with the bird flying down to the river, and another of a wide shot showing the general scene with the piers of the railway viaduct in the background, The last picture was of one of the dippers standing on a rock a few yards upstream of the bridge having caught a grub underwater and preparing to fly back to the nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.