Dennis G. says hello on Nelson Street

Camilla and I had another session this morning to create a photographic record of the interesting buildings which will comprise the 'Local List' being coordinated by Stroud Preservation Trust. I mentioned about it in my Blip last Sunday, 16th April. 

Luckily the sun was shining once again so there was good light for most of the time. We ended up on Nelson Street at the top end of the town centre and we stopped to talk to a man in the doorway of a former fish and chip shop, who was dressed in builder's overalls. Camilla started discussing what they were doing and what sort of enterprise it would be. We had been chatting to owners of buildings all morning when we asked permission to take  pictures of details and features of their properties.

I realised that the man was a rather well known actor, and local character, having read recently that he was opening a 'diner' in Nelson Street. I asked him if I could take a picture as he looked rather different to his usual public image. He readily agreed, but then said that I couldn't use it except for my own purposes, so I can't show it here. 
 
Just moments later our good friend Dennis Gould walked by and said hello. He was carrying a new poster he'd printed on his letterpress advertising a talk tomorrow by Anthony Burton, another local man, about his recent book called Crafted in Britain, which has wonderful photos and  it is worth checking this link. I immediately took this picture of Dennis, who never minds having his photo taken, and I have blipped him several times before. He is incredibly active for a near 80 year old running his print workshop and selling his posters and cards and many rare books from his stall in the Shambles Market on Fridays and Saturdays.

In the 'Extra photos' I've added one of the photos I took of a book shop called 'Inprint' which was just a few yards away at the top of the High Street. On the left of it across the small alley is the oldest building in town, dating from about 1450, called the Medieval Hall.  It was the first building that Stroud Preservation Trust took on to save it from demolition. Camilla is the chair if the trust and I am a trustee and the work continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.