The milk parlour window at Dyrham Park house

We went for a short visit to Dyrham Park at lunchtime to make full use of Helena's holiday time. We hadn't been able to visit the interior of the National Trust property last time we visited as it was having a new roof installed. Today we could wander around some of the interior which is still being slowly restored.

I liked the Dutch style interiors and at one point we came into a room where there was a doorway leading down a corridor. Irt was only then that I realised that the view beyond the doorway was actually a trompe l'oeil, it being a famous illusion painting by the artist Simon van Hoogstraten. I have added my photo of it, taken in rather dark conditions, as an 'Extra photo'.

My blip was taken after we had left the main house.  It is in the milk parlour and shows the window into the courtyard with the beautiful Delft tiles which are used all around the room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.