CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A white-throated dipper approaching its nest

It was such a lovely day that I couldn't resist the urge to go to the local river and look for the kingfishers. There was a chance to photograph them near their nest before the leaves on the overhanging trees limit the light more than usual.

Sadly I saw no sign of the kingfishers but two white-throated dippers flew rapidly past me heading downstream though I wasn't quick enough to follow their flight. I just watched as they receded into the distance flying a couple of feet above the fast flowing water of the River Frome.

I then turned my attention to where the dippers' nest under a footbridge carrying a busy local footpath over the river. The conditions were still quite dark and somewhat tricky with the back lighting and reflected pools of light on the surface. I managed this shot of one of them flying up to take food to the nest, which they did at sporadic intervals.

I was lucky that they weren't too disturbed by a couple of middle-aged men drinking beer from cans situated under the brick viaduct in the back left of the picture. They were seemingly unaware of the birds' activities right in front of them, concentrating instead on throwing a small ball into the river for their tiny dog to fetch. At one point the ball went out into the middle of the stream and the dog valiantly followed. Then it realised that there the fast flowing river was too strong for it, and it turned around to go back to the bank. But it was too late and the poor terrified little pooch was swept into the tumbling deep water and away down the river and over the old mill race. It disappeared under water right in front of me. I stood up from my camera position, although there was nothing I could do, but follow it with my eyes. The river flow lessened after the mill race and it eventually managed to find quieter water and headed towards the bank about twenty yards downstream. I shouted out to the men who had finally realised their dog had been swept away, and they managed to get up and come to rescue it. I think they were more worried about losing their cans, as they seemed to carry them with them wherever they went. I felt very sorry for the little dog. They all then left and I returned to taking pictures. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.