Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Garlton Castle (Remains Of) - Sunday Ride

A cold morning for my bike ride. The weather forecast says there will be no rain in East Lothian, unlike my usual route where heavy rain is forecast. I head out through Gilmerton to Dalkeith, where I experience a little light rain. It doesn't last for long. While the ride is a little tougher than expected, I carry on up to Fordel Dean then on to the Humbie road and the back roads to West Saltoun. 

The cycling is quite fast from East Saltoun, through Gifford, then down to Haddington. There are a few cyclists out. Our paths criss crossing. I go right they go left, others go straight on, I turn left. Once through Haddington, I take the Aberlady road up to the Garlton Hills, then right on to the B1343 with the aim of heading to Athelstaneford. Its at that point, the rain starts.

I stop at the base of Skid Hill, and struggle with my rain jacket. It takes a while. I also take this opportunity to get my blip as I don't think the weather will get any better. The main blip is Remains of Garlton Castle, the cottages are built with stone from the castle. The Extra is of Skid Hill and Byres Hill, with the Hopetoun Monument. View large to see the rain.

I decide to cut my losses, and head north, passing the Motor Museum, to Aberlady. I take the coastal road back to Musselburgh. I am joined by another cyclist, and we take it in turns to do a spell on the front. In no time we reach Musselburgh. A Joppa we take our separate ways as he heads for Newhaven and me for Fairmilehead.

My route is the usual Milton Road and Innocent Railway to St. Leonard's. The final effort is through the Grange, Morningside and Comiston to home.

Totals: Distance 52 miles, 83.7km. Climbing 2,450ft, 747m.

Glad to get home. Very cold and a bit damp. Toasted sandwiches for lunch.

The afternoon is spent relaxing. Coffee time means I get to eat some of my dark chocolate egg. The egg comes with a collection of whisky liqueur chocolates, so that's post evening meal sorted then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.