Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Addenbrookes - PLACE Assessor

After a very lazy weekend, I spent today volunteering at Addenbrookes Hospital for two sessions of their annual Patient-led Assessments of the Care Environment (PLACE). I had volunteered for this prior to my husband’s recent surgery and I had not expected, when he came home from hospital, that he would need as much help as he does. However, Victoria, our granddaughter was still on her Easter holiday break, so she came round to “Granddad sit”!
 
It was an extremely enjoyable, although busy day, when I visited some parts of the hospital that were new to me. I, with others in my group, assessed A and E, (I have been there before) Ward EAU5, N2 as well as some corridors and sections leading off the corridors. It also involved tasting the patient’s lunch, which for me was limited, as I did not have a menu to check which was gluten-free. The lunch provided for me was excellent and included my favourite Marks and Spencer gluten-free sandwich, gluten-free cake and fruit.
   
As I left the hospital the Park and Ride was just leaving, they run every ten minutes; the next one was due in sixteen minutes, so I walked to the Park and Ride. It was very windy waiting for the bus, so walking was a good option even though the bus arrived at the Park and Ride just slightly before I got there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.