New Art

The Aberdeen Market building is considered to be one of the drabbest concrete buildings in Aberdeen (according to the Big Issue), I consider it to be an eyesore which detracts greatly from the appearance of "The Green" which could potentially be quite a nice small piazza. The market building dates from the 1970s, maybe not one of the greatest periods of Aberdeen architecture.

In April a number of street artists were invited to the city to decorate selected sights around the city. This particular work on the Aberdeen Market building is possibly one of the biggest, though there are others quite large also, it has almost certainly been the picture most seen in the local newspapers.

The work is by Herakut, a German collective. I am not sure it is my favourite, but it is the one of which I got the best shot as I wandered around this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.