Stavros S Niarchos Crossing Campbeltown Loch

11.2C overcast, cloudy, fairly bright, and dry. Showers forecast. Light Westerly breeze.

I heard Maeve the Deerhound get up about 6am but she lay down when I went to see if she was alright. I suspect she had been up and down a few times through the night. We went for our walk at 7am.

After lunch Maeve and I went for a shorter walk.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. I went round past Aquilibrium and had a wander round past the old quay. The harbour was quite empty of boats today. Then I went on round the harbour and along the little park by the ferry terminal. As I was walking I could see masts appearing from out past the shipyard. I waited while the ship came in through the channel and passed Davaar island and the shipyard to cross the loch. I thought it might be Stavros S Niarchos, and it was. I carried on out along the park as it began to manoeuvre to berth at the outer end of the old quay. I walked out as far as Glenramskill House then I came back. When I was out there I could see that the thing that the Pilot boat was towing yesterday was tied up to the NATO refuelling jetty. I came back along the street side of the park and came home through town passing the town hall and the bookshop (closed ... half day).

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked and waited):
Lawrence Dallaglio OBE. Former English rugby union player.
Julian Fellowes. English actor, novelist, film director, screenwriter, and Conservative peer.
Dame Harriet Walter. English stage and screen actress.

Afternoon music ... T.Rex, The Slider. David Bowie, Aladdin Sane.

DMC-LX7 f/3.2 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 18mm (35mm focal length 90mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.