OUCH!

So, to continue yesterday's entry........

We were leaving the Temple and I was about to get into the mini bus. I put my bag on the floor and had my hand on the side of the doorway. Three colleagues got in the back and then.....one slammed the door shut and my fingers were trapped in it. I screamed and in the couple of seconds or so it took for them to open the door I wondered who was making that noise and then I sobbed out loud as I thought that the end of my fingers would drop off the moment they were released.

They didn't drop off, but blimey they hurt like hell. I was crying and rushed back in the building to put them under cold water. The nurses came to help me, I was sobbing, I was shaking and I was completely shocked. 

I clutched an ice pack as we drove back to base then my manager, a colleague and I walked over the road to Manchester Royal Infirmary.....A&E was bulging and I said I wasn't going to wait. I just wanted to go home. They said I had to go to hospital and so I said I would go to Hope Hospital on the way home. Grahame said he would follow me there to check I was alright, as I was driving with one hand. 

I parked up at Hope and Grahame came in with me. A&E didn't seem too busy and I saw triage straight away....but then I sat and waited for two and a half hours. Grahame was a star as he didn't go home, even though I said I would be alright. I think he thought that if he left I would give up and just go home. 

Eventually I was called and went to Minor Injuries....then to X-ray....then back to Minor Injuries. I was told I had two fractured fingers. They cleaned the wounds then strapped me up and put a sling on me. I told Grahame not to tell them I was actually going to drive home. (I know people will shake their head at this but I just needed to get home and it is my right hand so I could change gear and at nearly 3am the roads were empty on the short drive). 

I had a few hours sleep before I woke up early this morning. Have you ever tried putting mascara on with your left hand? Don't bother lol

My fingers have throbbed all day, but the good news is a consultant rang me to say he doesn't think they are fractured. 

Every now and then I  get a dreadful sinking feeling at the thought of what happened and think of the stories I've heard of fingers being chopped off in doors. I am so lucky :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.