A Bit Surreal

The scales of my love/hate relationship with the Apple company have definitely tilted to the love side. After my dreadful experience on the phone with tech support for an entire day, I felt stupid, inadequate and just plain mad. My stubborn self came forward determined to figure things out on my own, but my inept side was definitely afraid of losing everything again.

In the end,  since I had had no luck makeing  an appointment on the phone., this morning, fortified by an Aztek mocha I marched into the dreadful mall, marched past all the little kiosks with people hawkingl miracle hand creams, iPhone covers and neck and shoulder massages  and marched into the Apple Store ready to do battle.

Things couldn't have gone much more smoothly.

Unlike the rest of the deserted mall,  there were some people in there, but it ididn't seem terribly busy. It is such a 'clean' place, so devoid of any kind of signage or guidance that it is difficult to distinguish which  people work there, They, definitely know how to find us however, and in a trice I was put in a  (virtual) queue by a person with a red iPad cover to see a genius. I marched back out into the mall, where I found a chair. About 45 minutes later I was summoned back to the store via a text and told by the person with the red iPad cover (but not the same one I had talked to before....) to sit at the Genius Bar. 

Part of their genius seems to be figuring out which of the people sitting at the Genius Bar is their designated  client. It took less than five minutes for my genius to identify me, determine that I had plenty of storage in the cloud for my photos on the compute, turn off the photos being imported into my phone. by doing whatever the equivalent of pressing a button is on an iPhone and answer a couple of questions without making me feel completely stupid. In fact, I left feeling like I had known the answers all along, I just didn't realize it....

And he didn't once mention that my computer was an 'antique' probably should be replaced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.