Abstract Patterns

When I fell asleep last night it was raining fairly hard..  I gave OilMan a weather station for Christmas which he finally got around to installing on top of our arbor. It has a remote readout of rainfall amounts, wind speed and direction, temperature and barometric pressure. I knew that although he is as sick of the rain as I am, that a secret part of him...the competitive  guy who thinks in numbers...would be rooting for the total amount for this year top 60 inches. He keeps close tabs on these things and commented yesterday that the official reading at the airport was 59.9 inches. I think he can stop thinking about it now....

I learned today when I got a questionnaire from Apple about my experience in their store yesterday that my genius' name was Alexander. I gave Alexander high marks for not making me feel like an idiot when all that was needed was to press a single button (or whatever you call it). 

Although, although Steve Jobs would be disappointed in me, I cannot give them high marks for the design of their stores. I find their resemblance  to a space ship or, worse yet, an airport runway, a bit unnerving. It is just as well that they take your name and send you a text when you're reaching the head of the queue , because there is not one single chair in the entire place.

There is a new Lululemon in our rather retro Montgomery Village shopping center, so after I finished wasting time in Acre Coffee, I went to check it out. They had window seats as big as beds with lots of pillows, so plenty of places to sit, but not much else. I heard the young woman explaining to someone why they are not a 'full service store'. I think the Internet is putting paid to the retail shopping experience. 

The sun is out today...halleluia! I took advantage of it shining through the blinds onto the rug for today's abstract. The sun also brings with it  the weeds and the mosquitoes...so I spent some time in the garden pulling weeds and dumping water out of everything.  Our agave sprout, which looks like a giant asparagus spear is now at least 15 feet tall.

On some days I feel
no-one's in charge of the world,
or even of me.

I wander about
but nothing occurs to me
so I sit and stare.

Then I realize
that it is just up to me
to get a move on....

About time to reboot with a glass of wine....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.